

# SPECIAL ROCKWALL CITY COUNCIL MEETING

# Tuesday, May 13, 2025 – 4:30 PM

City Hall Council Chambers - 385 S. Goliad St., Rockwall, TX 75087

## I. Call Public Meeting to Order

Councilmember Mark Moeller called the meeting to order at 4:30 p.m. Present were Councilmember Moeller, Councilmember Sedric Thomas, and Councilmember Anna Campbell, as well as City Secretary, Kristy Teague.

#### II. Open Forum

Councilmember Moeller asked if anyone would like to come forth and speak at this time. There being no one present or indicating such, he then moved to the next agenda item.

#### III. Action Items

1. Discuss and consider approval of a resolution canvassing the official returns of the General Election held in the City of Rockwall on May 3, 2025, and take any action necessary.

Councilmember Moeller read the item and deferred to Ms. Teague to provide further information.

City Secretary Kristy Teague indicated that, for purposes of convening to canvass election results, two members of Council is considered a quorum. She then briefly commented on the purpose of the resolution, which is to canvass the election and declare the official results of the most recent General Election, which was held on Saturday, May 3, 2025 to elect a mayor and three councilmembers (for Places 1, 3, and 5), each for two-year terms. She went on to read the official results into the record as follows:

Regarding the race for City of Rockwall Mayor, in the order in which each candidate appeared on the ballot:

- Candidate Clarence L. Jorif received 1,532 votes, which was 33.5% of total votes cast.
- Candidate Tim McCallum received 2,864 votes, which was 62.63% of total votes cast.
- Candidate Adam Khan received 177 votes, which was 3.87% of total votes cast.

So, the declared winner of the mayoral race is Tim McCallum.

Regarding the race for Rockwall Councilmember, Place 1:

- Candidate Eric S. Smith received 357 votes, which was 8.04% of total votes cast.
- Candidate Richard W. Henson received 2,504 votes, which was 56.37% of total votes cast.
- Candidate Catherine A. Casteel received 1,035 votes, which was 23.30% of total votes cast
- Candidate Scott Johnson received 546 votes, which was 12.29% of total votes cast.

So, the declared winner for Rockwall City Councilmember, Place 1 is Richard W. Henson

Regarding the race for Rockwall Councilmember, Place 3:

- Candidate Melba L. Jeffus received 3,169 votes, which was 76.32% of total votes cast.
- Candidate Jules Corder IV received 983 votes, which was 23.68% of total votes cast.

So, the declared winner for Rockwall City Councilmember, Place 3 is Melba L. Jeffus.

Regarding the race for Rockwall City Councilmember, Place 5:

- Candidate Dennis Lewis received 2,015 votes, which was 45.97% of total votes cast.
- Candidate Caren J. Williams received 1,322 votes, which was 30.16% of total votes cast.
- Candidate Tan Lee received 1,046 votes, which was 23.86% of total votes cast.

So the declared winner for Rockwall City Councilmember, Place 5 is Dennis Lewis.

Once Ms. Teague read the above listed results into the record, she explained that newly elected Councilmembers will be sworn in and take their Oath of Office at the next, regular city council meeting on Monday, May 19, 2025, which is in accordance with the City Charter.

Councilmember Thomas then moved to approve the resolution canvassing the results of the May 3, 2025 General Election. Councilmember Campbell seconded the motion, which – by a show of hands – passed unanimously by a vote of 3 ayes to 0 nays.

## IV. Adjournment

Councilmember Moeller adjourned the meeting at 4:35 p.m.

PASSED AND APPROVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF ROCKWALL, TEXAS ON THIS 19th

DAY OF MAY, 2025.

TIM McCALLUM, MAYOR

ATTEST:

KRISTY TEAGUE, CITY SECRETARY